The Pants that Broke the Camel’s Back

20 Jun

It started with a simple sentence last Monday night. Me to my husband…

Me- I need some new pants.
He- Oh honey I just wrote a cheque for our taxes today…
Me- I need pants.
He- Honey, I just don’t think today is the day to talk about buying…

And then I LOST IT!!!! Like a two-year old being told no in Toys R Us. I had a hissy fit. I dropped F-bombs. I spazzed out….. big time!

“I used to be stylish!” I screamed.
“Do you know how long it’s been since I had a facial?”
“I haven’t had a bikini wax since 2009! It’s like 1975 down there!”

Like a man talking down an angry monkey, my husband very softly said “Honey you can get some pants. It’s just that we’re trying to buy a house this year and we really need to stick to a budget. In our weekly allowances we’ll put some money aside so we can get clothes.”

“So WE can get clothes?” I replied. “I need more money than you! Unless you want me to start looking like a dude I simply need more money!”

What I was trying to say was that men don’t realize how much money it costs us ladies to “keep it together.” Saying to my husband that I was going to start “looking like a dude” if he didn’t fork over some cash, seemed to only confuse and greatly concern him.  But it worked!

By the end of the conversation we both agreed that I was a raving lunatic. BUT a raving lunatic that was allowed to go shopping!

When I went to the shops, I decided to do something a little different. I DIDN’T start at the sales rack in the back. Anyone else like me? Any other “back of the store shoppers” out there? I started at the front of the store like a regular person! So liberating! I tried things on …just because I liked them, and not because they were on sale! I have been a victim of the “sales rack” lifestyle for many many years. It’s not to say you can’t find great things on sale but let’s be honest, a lot of things are discounted because they are weird-looking or ill-fitting.

I enjoyed and appreciated every minute of my shopping adventure and came home with what I like to call “Five Easy Pieces.” Here they are as an ensemble…

Individually they are:

Deena and Ozzy handbag (big enough to fit my Mac Book) bought at Urban Outfitters $39.99

A.J Morgan Sunglasses bought at Anthropologie $29.99

Staring at Stars loose cotton shirt bought at Urban Outfitters $59.99

1969 Men’s Chino’s (that’s right they’re boy pants!) bought at The Gap $24.99

Cooperative cropped jacket bought at Urban Outfitters $79.99

*Check out our Flickr page to see Jenn’s fabulous finds up close and personal!  (ok… not exactly personal, but you get the idea.)

One Response to “The Pants that Broke the Camel’s Back”

  1. Emmy June 27, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    gap pants for 25 bucks?! nicely done! this post made me laugh, it was hilarious- keep it up! and don’t feel bad, i’ve been a victim of the sales rack lifestyle for as long as i can remember, and i don’t see a way out presenting itself any time soon. i prefer to think of it as thrifty and frugal…not cheap. it sounds a whole lot better, no?

    check out my blog if you get a chance!
    http://oneinchapart.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

