The Week of Feeling Delicate

9 May

In show business, there’s an age-old saying that you should never work with children or animals. Well I’m here to tell you that if you can avoid traveling with children and animals, I suggest you do so. Unfortunately, my husband and I didn’t feel the baby and the dog could handle themselves appropriately alone for 3 months at the LA apartment, so we decided to take them with us to Toronto. I feel the journey back to our homeland with baby and dog has aged me prematurely – approximately 6.85 years, to be precise. I’m heavily moisturizing and considering Botox.  Our camera also broke this week so let’s say hubby, Lola and I looked a little like this…..and Norman looked a little like that…..

 

From the red eye flight from LA to TO, our corporate condo/baby deathtrap accommodations, to my daughter’s public temper tantrum at the airport where she screamed and hit me repeatedly in the face, I wondered if I would ever recover.

As Mother’s Day approached, I kept thinking, “what do I want to do for my big M Day?”  I deserve so much, and 24 hours is such a small amount of time for my husband to express his undying love, devotion and appreciation of me! Ha ha! Moms have to think about this day very carefully.  You only get one chance every 365 days to be publicly and privately thanked for all the diapers and sleepless nights.

It occurred to me as the big day approached that with a one-year-old I needed to keep it simple. Also, champagne brunch is not such a great idea when you are responsible for keeping a toddler from falling over for the rest of the day.

So I decided I wanted sunshine, baked goods and good coffee!

The sunshine was out of my power, but it did happen today, so off I went with my two loved ones to Clafouti bakery.  Every Sunday morning, Clafouti on Queen St. West makes fresh croissants. But to say that Clafouti simply makes croissants, is to say that Lance Armstrong rides a bike.  Or Jimmy Choo makes footwear.  Or that Ron Jeremy has had a few on-camera “relationships.” Calfouti transcends the artform. On the sweet side, there’s fig, pain au chocolate, and cinnamon and brown sugar. For the savory folks, spinach and feta or ham and cheese. The catch with these delightful morsels is they only make a certain amount.  So basically, if you snooze you loose. Perhaps you are thinner for not having made it in time to enjoy these li’l buttery bastards, but you are not happier! I can guarantee that! And despite popular demand, they won’t make extra! Even on Mother’s Day! I love it! So French!

Thankfully, on this sunny Mother’s Day morning, we made it in time…. barely! No more pain au chocolate, but a sweet fig, spinach and feta, and a plain croissant were consumed in a park, with coffee (from Dark Horse Espresso Bar), as I watched my daughter giggle while being pushed on the swing by my handsome husband.  In that perfect moment I thought,  “I may be starting to recover from that red eye.”

One Response to “The Week of Feeling Delicate”

  1. Deb McGrath May 19, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Sounds like the perfect Mother’s Day to me!

Leave a Reply

