A Hair Piece

18 Apr
kar·ma/ˈkärmə/Noun
Destiny or fate, following as effect from cause.This week I suffered from bad hair Karma. For those of you who have been following Society Finch from the beginning, you’ll recall that our very first blog was about all the zany things Nic and I had done to our hair in order to achieve “just the right blonde.” Oh, how we laughed about all the stuff we had put our hair through! Oh, the hilarity! Oh, the good times!

This week… the good times stopped.My colorist Ava applied the SAME color she’d been using for 4 months, and then took me to the sink to wash the color out. Ava suddenly looked pale and excused herself to go have a cigarette out back.  She returned from the alley smelling smoky but composed, to tell me that something had gone terribly wrong.  “It appears that your hair is so damaged that it did not absorb all of the color. (Pause) In fact, it seems that the only color that your hair absorbed is green.” Yup, green.  As in boogers, Kermit, and 97% of the vomit on St. Patrick’s Day.

Let me interject by saying my ancestry is British, which means no matter how upsetting something is, we don’t like to express emotion or react in public. In fact, when my great uncle was asked how he dealt with his city of Newcastle Upon Tyne being constantly bombed during WWII, he replied, “We muddled through it.”So, upon hearing the alarming news of my green hair, I simply said, “Well, this is unexpected.” I then learned much of my hair would need to be cut off and my hair would need to be red. No other color options.  Apparently, the only color that covers green is red, end of story.  I arrived a blonde getting her roots done, and left the salon with short red hair. I got into the car and called my husband, told him I was on my way home and that “things had gone a bit weird.”  “Weird how?” he asked.  I then informed him that I looked okay but I looked a bit like a young schoolboy. On the upside, it turns it out my husband is quite fond of young schoolboys. Nothing creepy, he’s just fond of their musical stylings. You know: Justin Beiber, boy’s choirs, Menudo, that sort of thing.

So change was forced upon me this week, and after a short (Get it?) adjustment period, I am happy with my new hair. With hair, like in life, if you muck about and can’t decide what you want, a decision will be made FOR you. So if you want to be master of your own hair destiny, treat your hair kindly, lest something unexpected happens to your hair and you find yourself having to “muddle through it.”Gotta go, I hear Menudo playing in the other room and my husband wants me to try on short pants and a blazer.
11 Responses to “A Hair Piece”

  1. Liz April 18, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    You look STUNNING, Jenn! This is absolutely a best-case worst-case hair scenario. Gorgeous. My one complaint is that there are no shots of the green hair…

    • society finch April 18, 2011 at 11:01 am #

      We definitely agree. This is probably my (Nic’s) favorite cut on Jenn! The prettiest school boy, I ever saw!

  2. Anita Martens April 18, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Oh Jen…I think you look beautiful, I love the cute, the colour and I love that kelly green dress on you. You have officially joined my world…I love having red hair!!

    • society finch April 18, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      Anita! Thanks for the support sister!

      • Tracey April 18, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

        My dear, you could have come out bald and still be gorgeous…..looking lovely. Just tell those LA chicks, that red is the new blonde! 🙂

  3. Carly April 18, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Jeepers. I wish my hair looked that good ON PURPOSE. As if you achieved hair perfection by potentially-awful accident. No fair.

  4. Julie Hasson April 18, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Jenn I love the new do! You’re now an official member of the short hair club.

    What a funny and sad tale.

  5. Christy April 19, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    Jenn! I heart society finch. When I met you, you had short, reddish hair! Love the connection between hair and karma. Gives a much bigger meaning to ‘bad hair day.’

  6. society finch April 19, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Thanks for all the support friends! We LOVE hearing from you!

  7. Barbara Radecki April 22, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Deb McGrath introduced me to you guys today. Love you!!! And, Jen, the hair is divine. Could you be any cuter???

    • society finch April 22, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks Barbara! We love you ladies too! Your blog is wonderful! Could you and Deb be any cuter???? Not possible!! xo

Leave a Reply

