P.S. I Love You

4 Apr

My Society Finch partner Nicole is moving this week. Moving is one of the top five stressful life events, right up there with death, divorce, illness, and trying to find a parking space at a Trader Joe’s.

So while Nicole is in the throes of moving this week, I thought I’d take this opportunity to tell you about how lucky I was to spend three glorious days in Palm Springs with friends and family.

Palm Springs is the opposite of stress. It’s full of mid-century modern architecture, seniors, cocktails, hot springs, and fabulous gay men!  A magical combination!

My husband and I first fell for Palm Springs when we stayed at the newly refurbished Riviera Palm Springs Resort in ‘09.  The Riviera originally opened in 1959 and immediately became the place for the definitive “Palm Springs experience” for celebs and sophisticates from all over the world. There are too many famous guests to mention but let’s just say when I realized the first pool my baby ever splashed around in was a pool that Elizabeth Taylor, Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley swam in, it made this mama proud! What a story to tell her when she is older!

So while Nicole steam cleaned curtains we enjoyed The Riviera Resort which re-opened in fall 2008 with 70 million in renovations. Do you have any idea how great I would look someone would put 70 million into me?!

I might look as good as this….

My dear friend Jennifer came with us and was so excited to get there she got a speeding ticket from a very handsome police officer.

The 3 days went by quickly.  While Nicole lifted a couch (in two parts),  by herself up a flight of stairs.  I lifted several cocktails to my mouth by myself, including the Riviera’s Homemade Gin and Tonic.

Two of the three nights we had sitters for Lola in the evening so I dare say I enjoyed my time to the fullest!

While Nicole tried to order gluten and dairy free pizza, we munched on carnitas and chile rellenos covered in cheese at Las Casuelas Terraza.

While Nicole was second guessing her furniture placement I was second guessing a second martin at Melvyn’s, a classic old Hollywood Palm Springs restaurant.  Melvyn’s is so old-school that our waiter introduced himself as our “dining captain” which made Jennifer and I giggle.  Jennifer asked if she could call him “Captain, my captain” and I said I would give her 5 bucks if she did it.  I owe her 20 bucks.

So I relaxed this week, and Nicole did the complete opposite.  Yes I had a dinning captain, homemade G and T and almost got in a fight with Diane Keaton over a thirty dollar print at a thrift shop. But Nicole has moved into a beautiful new home, and that is a joy that’s going to last longer than my memories of Palm Springs…maybe. It was pretty awesome.

You know what Nicole doesn’t have a baby that wakes up every day at 6am so I think it all balances out in the end.

Hope you all had a great week!

6 Responses to “P.S. I Love You”

  1. Tracey Loskow April 4, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Hey Jenn,

    I never order gin and tonic when I’m out because they just aren’t as good as when I make ’em at home. I call it “Lemonade”…lol!

    Here’s how I make it….and it has to be done in this order…

    -large glass filled with ice (think beer draught glass 16 oz)
    -1/4 of a lemon, squeezed over the ice then throw in the piece of lemon
    -2 shots of Tanqueray Gin (yes…Tanqueray)
    -tonic water to the top of the glass (regular tonic, not diet)
    -stir and enjoy!!!

    • society finch April 4, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      Ooooh! Thanks Tracey!
      Homework for this week everybody…. Make, consume, and get back to us regarding Tracey’s Lemonade.
      We’ll let you know how we enjoyed ours!

  2. Anita Martens April 4, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Next time you go to Palm springs…can I come! And G and T, yes please! And I’m pretty sure Nicole will need one as well!

  3. Liz April 5, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    Cocktails can be heavy… At least at the size I’d like to be mixing them right about now!

    Great post. We’re having a high of 6 degrees today. Jealous?

    • society finch April 5, 2011 at 9:02 am #

      You deserve above zero! Easter is coming and frozen chocolate bunnies are tough on the teeth!

Leave a Reply

